The Accidental Empress (Sisi, #1)

The Accidental Empress (Sisi, #1) Description:

New York Times bestselling author Allison Pataki follows up on her critically acclaimed debut novel i The Traitor s Wife i with the little known and tumultuous love story of Sisi the Austro Hungarian Empress and captivating wife of Emperor Franz Joseph br br The year is and the Habsburgs are Europe s most powerful ruling family With his empire stretching from Austria to Russia from Germany to Italy Emperor Franz Joseph is young rich and ready to marry br br Fifteen year old Elisabeth Sisi Duchess of Bavaria travels to the Habsburg Court with her older sister who is betrothed to the young emperor But shortly after her arrival at court Sisi finds herself in an unexpected dilemma she has inadvertently fallen for and won the heart of her sister s groom Franz Joseph reneges on his earlier proposal and declares his intention to marry Sisi instead br br Thrust onto the throne of Europe s most treacherous imperial court Sisi upsets political and familial loyalties in her quest to win and keep the love of her emperor her people and of the world br br With Pataki s rich period detail and cast of complex bewitching characters i The Accidental Empress i offers a captivating glimpse into one of history s most intriguing royal families shedding new light on the glittering Hapsburg Empire and its most mesmerizing most beloved Fairy Queen

Rating: 3.43 out of 5

The Traitor's Wife: The Woman Behind Benedict Arnold and the Plan to Betray America

The Traitor's Wife: The Woman Behind Benedict Arnold and the Plan to Betray America Description:

A riveting historical novel about Peggy Shippen Arnold the cunning wife of Benedict Arnold and mastermind behind America s most infamous act of treason br Everyone knows Benedict Arnold the Revolutionary War general who betrayed America and fled to the British as history s most notorious turncoat Many know Arnold s co conspirator Major John Andre who was apprehended with Arnold s documents in his boots and hanged at the orders of General George Washington But few know of the integral third character in the plot a charming young woman who not only contributed to the betrayal but orchestrated it br br br Socialite Peggy Shippen is half Benedict Arnold s age when she seduces the war hero during his stint as military commander of Philadelphia Blinded by his young bride s beauty and wit Arnold does not realize that she harbors a secret loyalty to the British Nor does he know that she hides a past romance with the handsome British spy John Andre Peggy watches as her husband crippled from battle wounds and in debt from years of service to the colonies grows ever more disillusioned with his hero Washington and the American cause Together with her former love and her disaffected husband Peggy hatches the plot to deliver West Point to the British and in exchange win fame and fortune for herself and Arnold br br br Told from the perspective of Peggy s maid whose faith in the new nation inspires her to intervene in her mistress s affairs even when it could cost her everything The Traitor s Wife brings these infamous figures to life illuminating the sordid details and the love triangle that nearly destroyed the American fight for freedom br

Rating: 3.69 out of 5

Sisi: Empress on Her Own (Sisi, #2)

Sisi: Empress on Her Own (Sisi, #2) Description:

In this sweeping and powerful novel i New York Times i bestselling author Allison Pataki tells the little known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria Hungary the Princess Diana of her time An enthralling work of historical fiction set during the Golden Age of the Habsburg court i Sisi i is a gripping page turner for readers of Philippa Gregory Paula McLain and Daisy Goodwin br br Married to Emperor Franz Joseph Elisabeth fondly known as Sisi captures the hearts of her people as their fairy queen but beneath that dazzling perception lives a far more complex figure In mid nineteenth century Vienna the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but also with temptations rivals and cutthroat intrigue Sisi grows restless feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage A free spirited wanderer she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest where she enjoys visits from the striking Hungarian statesman Count Andr ssy the man with whom she s unwittingly fallen in love But tragic news brings Sisi out of seclusion forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip envy and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows br br Through love affairs and loss Sisi struggles against the conflicting desires to keep her family together or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War In an age of crumbling monarchies Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband to win the love of her people and the world and to save an empire But in the end can she save herself

Rating: 3.59 out of 5

Where the Light Falls

Where the Light Falls Description:

b Set in Revolutionary Paris a rich and sweeping novel about courage duty sacrifice and love by the bestselling author of i Sisi i Allison Pataki and her brother Owen Pataki b br br From the courtrooms to the battlefields to the alleyways of Paris with cameos from infamous figures in French history the Patakis have crafted an epic action packed novel of the French Revolution as it has never been seen before Three years after the storming of the Bastille Paris is enlivened with the ideals of liberty equality and fraternity The monarchy has been dismantled and a new nation for the people is rising up in its place Jean Luc a young optimistic lawyer moves his wife Marie and their son to Paris inspired by a sense of duty to contribute to the new order Andr the son of a former nobleman flees his privileged past to fight in the unified French Army with his roguish brother Sophie a beautiful young aristocratic widow and niece of a powerful vindictive uncle embarks on her own fight for independence br br Underneath the glimmer of hope and freedom chaos threatens to undo all the progress of the revolution and the lives of these compatriots become inextricably linked As the demand for justice breeds instability creates enemies out of compatriots and fuels a constant thirst for blood in the streets Jean Luc Andre and Sophie are forced to question the sacrifices made for the revolution Liberty proves a fragile fleeting ideal and survival seems less and less likely both for these unforgettable individuals and indeed for the new nation itself

Rating: 3.71 out of 5

May We Always Remember

May We Always Remember Description:

No description available

Rating: 3.40 out of 5

The Best Fiction Sampler Ever 2015 - Howard Books: A Free Sample of Fiction Titles

The Best Fiction Sampler Ever 2015 - Howard Books: A Free Sample of Fiction Titles Description:

No description available

Rating: 3.36 out of 5

Howard Books Fiction Esampler: A Free Sampling of Spring 2014 Fiction Titles

Howard Books Fiction Esampler: A Free Sampling of Spring 2014 Fiction Titles Description:

A Simon amp Schuster eBook Simon amp Schuster has a great book for every reader

Rating: 3.50 out of 5